Mayor Rahm Emanuel
Mayor, City of Chicago
Honorary Chair
Robin M. Hulshizer
Latham & Watkins LLP
Meghan Hansen
Latham & Watkins LLP

Executive Panel & Distinguished Readers

Linda Bade
Nurse Anesthesiology, Loyola University Medical Center
Marcus Banks
Student, Boston University and former DTWT Chicago winner
Sean Berkowitz
Former Assistant U.S. Attorney, Partner, Latham & Watkins LLP
Steven Covey
Former General Counsel & Senior Vice President, Navistar, Inc.
Hon. Judge Robert M. Dow
Jr. U.S.D.C. for the Northern District of Illinois
Zachary Fardon
Former U.S. Attorney, Northern District of Illinois
Collins T. Fitzpatrick
Circuit Executive, U.S. Court of Appeals For The Seventh Circuit
Sal Guccione
Former Assistant Superintendent, Office of the Catholic Schools
Terri Foster
Founder, Chicago Charity Challenge
Brad Hamm
Dean, Northwestern University Medill School Of Journalism
Dr. Michael Horn
Associate Professor, Northwestern University
Samantha Johnson
Soccer Player, Chicago Red Stars
Hon. Judge Charles P. Kocoras
U.S.D.C for the Northern District of Illinois
Alex Kotlowitz
Author and Journalist
Sara Gilley Krivoshia
Principal, Cornerstone Research
Matt Kutcher
Assistant U.S. Attorney, Northern District of Illinois
Harry Lennix
Director, Stage and Screen Actor
Warren Lupel
Special Counsel, Much Shelist, P.C.
Yolanda Magallanes
Development Director, Organizing For Action
Sarah Marino
Director of Accreditation, Medical Assisting Education Review Board
Bethany McLean
Contributing Editor, Vanity Fair
Darryl McPherson
U.S. Marshal, U.S. Department of Justice, Northern District of Illinois
John Pont
Associate Coach, University of Chicago Maroons
Kyle Prater
Football player, Formerly of the New Orleans Saints
Judah Rodgon
Senior Counsel, Wells Fargo
Paul Rutherford
Vice Chairman, Cook County Crime Stoppers
Eric Schiller
Partner and Lecturer, Dentons and Northwestern University School Of Law
Julie Schrager
Legal Writing Coach, Schiff Hardin LLP
Helene Shapo
Professor, Northwestern University School Of Law
Liz Siciliano
Chief of Staff, Barack Obama Foundation
Awvee Story
Basketball Player, Formerly of the New Jersey Nets
Tom Tuohy
President, Founder, Dreams for Kids
Sammi Verhey
Development Officer, Organizing for Action
Jesse White
Secretary of State and State Librarian, State of Illinois
Michael Wilder
Partner and Author, Littler Mendelson P.C.
Zee Williams
Chief, Cook County State’s Attorney’s Office Child Support Enforcement Division

Our Readers & Event Volunteers

We Are Indebted To Our Many Wonderful Volunteers. This event could not have happened but for their time and talent, assisting in so many ways, planning the awards event, preparing letters to students and teachers, reaching out to local businesses and most importantly, reading all of those wonderful essays! We gratefully acknowledge their invaluable contributions.